D.I. Mendeleev A.M.Butlerov

XAS/XES School 2021 on
Advanced Synchrotron Methods:
X-ray Absorption and Emission spectroscopy

Lomonosov Moscow State University (LMSU)
Moscow, Russia

The school will be held online


Scope: X-ray spectroscopy is one of the demanded technique at the synchrotron light sources and XFELs. LMSU offers a 3 days training course in X-ray absorption and emission spectroscopy (XAS and XES) and related techniques, as high-energy-resolution fluorescence detection (HERFD), Resonant Inelastic X-ray Scattering (RIXS) and X-ray RAMAN/NIXS. The course will gather experienced scientists, active in the field of X-ray absorption and emission spectroscopy, who will share their expertise with MS/PhD students, post-docs and young scientists, interested in learning about the fundamental principles and applications of X-ray spectroscopy methods in their research. The school is also open to senior scientists.

Language: English


  • Core Level Spectroscopy:
  • Data Analysis and Electronic Structure Theory
  • Applications of Advanced Synchrotron Methods in Catalysis, Environmental Science, Nuclear Materials, Biochemistry and Medicine.

Confirmed Speakers:

  • Prof. Thorsten Stumpf, Institut für Ressourcenökologie, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V., Germany
  • Prof. Frank de Groot, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Anatoly Frenkel, Stony Brook University and Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA
  • Prof. Sam Shaw, University of Manchester, UK
  • Prof. Andrew Berry, Australian National University, Australia
  • Prof. Alexander Soldatov, The Smart Materials Research Institute at the Southern Federal University, Russia
  • Prof. Dorota Koziej, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Prof. Yves Jolly , Institut Néel, CNRS, France
  • Prof. Yan Zubavichus, Boreskov Institute of Catalysis SB RAS, Russia
  • Prof. Simo Huotari, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Dr. Pieter Glatzel, Dr. Christoph Sahle, Dr. Kirill Lomachenko, The European Synchrotron - ESRF, France
  • Dr. Matjaz Kavcic, Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  • Dr. Tonya Vitova, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and KARA Synchrotron, Germany
  • Dr. Thomas Dumas and Dr. Philippe Martin, CEA Marcoule, France
  • Dr. Dimitrios Manganas, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Germany
  • Dr. Lucia Amidani and Dr. Damien Preiur, Institut für Ressourcenökologie,  Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V., Germany
  • Dr. Sergei Butorin, Uppsala University, Sweden


  • Prof. Kristina Kvashnina
  • Prof. Stepan Kalmykov

Applications for registration should be sent to Maria Vatsadze: xas@radio.chem.msu.ru

The site is supported by Russian Foundation for Basic Research
  The using of published on this page materials is not allowed without special permission
Copyright (C) Chemisty Department of Moscow State University
Web-Editor: B.I.Pokrovskii
Web-design: Copyright (C) I. Minyaylova and V. Minaylov

Up to Moscow State University Up to Chemistry Department